

FROM: Association for Iron & Steel Technology (AIST)

186 Thorn Hill Road

Warrendale, PA 15086 USA

CONTACT: Stacy Varmecky

+1.724.814.3066



# **FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE**

# INDUSTRY LEADERS CHOSEN FOR SIGNIFICANT CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE GLOBAL IRON AND STEEL INDUSTRY

PITTSBURGH, 2 March 2016 — The Association for Iron & Steel Technology (AIST) recognizes, through peer reviews, the active leadership and significant contributions of individuals or companies to AIST and the global iron and steel industry. The Board of Directors Awards and Recognition Program serves to highlight those who have improved and advanced the steelmaking process, as well as challenging their colleagues to continue, and even exceed, the technological and developmental gains spotlighted by these achievements.

The following AIST Board of Directors Awards will be presented at the President's Award Breakfast during AISTech 2016 on 17 May 2016 in Pittsburgh, Pa., USA:

<u>AIST Steelmaker of the Year Award</u> — Established in 1991, the Steelmaker of the Year Award recognizes contributions of a prominent individual to the steel industry.

John J. Ferriola, chairman, chief executive officer and president, Nucor Corp.

<u>Hunt-Kelly Outstanding Paper Award (AIME)</u> — This award recognizes the author(s) of the best published paper of the previous year: US\$5,000 for first place, US\$2,500 for second place and US\$1,000 for third place.

First Place — Jason Adair, Nucor Steel–Decatur LLC; Chris S. Davis, Nucor Steel Marion Inc.; Britt Parrish, Nucor Steel–Decatur LLC; Zane T. Voss; Nucor Steel–Decatur LLC

These authors were selected to receive this year's honor for their paper entitled, "Electric Arc Furnace Process Improvement and the Law of Unintended Consequences."

Second Place — Krista R. Limmer; Julia E. Medvedeva, Missouri University of Science & Technology; Scott T. Pisarik, Chevron Corp.; David C. Van Aken, Missouri University of Science & Technology

These authors were selected to receive this award for their paper entitled, "Developing a Third-Generation Advanced High-Strength Steel With Two-Stage TRIP Behavior."

Third Place — Amy Beard, Quaker Chemical Corp.; Qiulin Yu, Nucor Steel Tuscaloosa Inc.

These authors were selected for their paper entitled, "Application of Hot Rolling Lubrication on a Reversing Coil/Plate Mill."

Page 2

<u>AIST William T. Hogan, S.J. Lecture Award</u> — Established in 1990, this honorary lecturer is selected in recognition of individual outstanding leadership to the iron and steel industry, with selected lectures covering trade, economics, steel industry operations, developments or forecasts.

# Mario Longhi, president and chief executive officer, United States Steel Corporation

<u>AIST Tadeusz Sendzimir Memorial Medal</u> — This distinguished award was established in 1990 to perpetuate the memory of Dr. Tadeusz Sendzimir's achievements and engineering contributions in developing process equipment for the steel industry. The award is presented in recognition of an individual who has advanced steelmaking through the invention, development or application of new manufacturing processes or equipment.

### Kenneth E. Blazek, principal engineer, continuous casting, ArcelorMittal USA

<u>AIST Distinguished Member and Fellow Awards</u> — Established in 1975, the Distinguished Member and Fellow Award is presented to an AIST member who has attained eminent distinction in advancing the technical development, production, processing and application of iron and steel and/or related activities of the industry, and has performed meritorious service to the association.

David K. Matlock, emeritus professor, Colorado School of Mines

Douglas D. Niksch, director, material handling, Mi-Jack Products Inc.

Ronaldo S. Sampaio, president, R.S. Consultants

Richard P. Teets Jr., executive vice president and chief operating officer – Steel Operations, Steel Dynamics Inc.

<u>John F. Elliott Lectureship Award</u> — Established in 1990, this honorary lectureship is designed to acquaint students and engineers with the exciting opportunities in chemical process metallurgy and materials chemistry. This lecturer is selected in recognition of distinguished contributions in chemical process metallurgy and materials chemistry to the iron and steel industry.

## P. Christopher Pistorius, POSCO professor, Carnegie Mellon University

<u>J. Keith Brimacombe Memorial Lecture</u> — The AIST J. Keith Brimacombe Memorial Lecture Award was established in 1999 to honor Dr. J. Keith Brimacombe's outstanding accomplishments in the area of process metallurgy, his dedication to the steel industry and his profound effect on people in the industry.

### Peter D. Hodgson, professor, Deakin University

Prof. Hodgson will present his lecture on Monday, 16 May at AISTech 2016. His lecture is titled, "Engineering Steels at the Nanoscale for Improved Performance."

<u>Benjamin F. Fairless Award (AIME)</u> — This award was established in 1954 in honor of Benjamin F. Fairless, chairman of the board of United States Steel Corporation, for his intense interest in the technology and development of the iron and steel industry. This award recognizes distinguished achievement in iron and steel production and ferrous metallurgy.

### George Krauss, university emeritus professor, Colorado School of Mines

Outstanding Chapter Growth Award — The AIST Outstanding Chapter Growth Award was established in 1996 as the Past President's Award. Two awards will be presented each year to the AIST Member Chapters. The first award recognizes the chapter with the greatest percentage increase in new membership and the second award recognizes the chapter with the greatest numerical increase in membership.

Greatest Percentage Increase — Australia Member Chapter — Paul J. O'Kane, OneSteel Ltd., Sydney, NSW, Australia, will accept the award on behalf of the Australia Member Chapter

# **Industry Leaders Chosen for Recognition at AISTech 2016**Page 3

Greatest Percentage Increase — India Member Chapter — Anand Sen, Tata Steel Ltd., Jamshedpur, JH, India, will accept the award on behalf of the India Member Chapter

Greatest Numerical Increase — Northeastern Ohio Member Chapter — Larry A. Marks, TimkenSteel Corp., Canton, Ohio, USA, will accept the award on behalf of the Northeastern Ohio Member Chapter

Greatest Numerical Increase — Korea Member Chapter — Sun Cheer Sheen, Donghae Steeltech Corp., Seoul, South Korea, will accept the award on behalf of the Korea Member Chapter

The <u>President's Award Breakfast</u> is one of the signature events of AISTech 2016, the world's largest annual gathering of steel industry personnel. AISTech 2016 will be held 16–19 May at the David L. Lawrence Convention Center, Pittsburgh, Pa., USA, and will offer a program with hundreds of technical presentations, an expansive exposition, plant tours, a unique town hall forum and keynote presentations by today's business leaders.

Media passes for AISTech 2016 are complimentary. To attend the President's Award Breakfast or other events, please complete the <u>online press registration form</u>.

<u>AIST</u> is an international technical association of more than 18,000 professional and student members, representing iron and steel producers, their allied suppliers and related academia. The association is dedicated to advancing the technical development, production, processing and application of iron and steel.

###

#### Editor's Note:

For individual photos or more information, please contact <u>Stacy Varmecky</u>, general manager — membership & marketing, AIST, phone: +1.724.814.3066.