About AIST

Board of Directors

The affairs of AIST shall be managed by the Board of Directors, which shall have supervision, control and
direction of the affairs of AIST; shall determine its policies or changes therein within the limits of the Bylaws; shall actively prosecute its purposes; and shall have discretion in the disbursement of its funds.


Glenn A. Pushis

Glenn A. Pushis
vice president and general manager
Steel Dynamics Inc. (SDI) – Flat Roll Division
5/9/2014 - 5/7/2015

First Vice President

George J. Koenig

George J. Koenig
Berry Metal Co.
5/9/2014 - 5/7/2015

Second Vice President

Anton Lukac

Anton Lukac

5/9/2014 - 5/7/2015

Past President

Terry G. Fedor II
executive vice president, United States iron ore operations
Cliffs Natural Resources
5/9/14 - 5/7/15

First Officer-at-Large

Wendell Carter

Wendell L. Carter
vice president and general manager
ArcelorMittal Indiana Harbor
5/9/2014 - 5/7/2015

Second Officer-at-Large

Randy Skagen

Randy C. Skagen
vice president and general manager
Nucor Steel Tuscaloosa, Inc.
5/9/2014 - 5/7/2015

Third Officer-at-Large

Ronald J. O’Malley
F. Kenneth Iverson Chair Professor and Director
Missouri University of Science & Technology
5/9/2014 - 5/7/2015

Fourth Officer-at-Large

Steven J. Henderson
vice president, east region CMC Americas
CMC Steel South Carolina
5/9/2014 - 5/7/2015


William C. King II

William C. King II
United States Steel Corporation
5/9/2014 - 5/7/2015


Ronald E. Ashburn

Ronald E. Ashburn
executive director and secretary
Association for Iron & Steel Technology
5/9/2014 - 5/7/2015

AIST Foundation President

Frederick T. Harnack
United States Steel Corporation
5/10/2013 - 5/7/2015

Safety & Environment Division

William R. Allan
5/9/2014 - 5/5/2016
Safety & Health Technology Committee
Environmental Technology Committee

Cokemaking Technology Division

Robert H. Carlin
general manager - assets
DTE Energy Services Steel Group
5/10/2013 - 5/7/2015
Cokemaking Technology Committee
Ironmaking Technology Committee

Steelmaking Technology Division

Sammy A. Matson
technical energy manager
CMC Americas
5/9/2014 - 5/5/2016
Electric Steelmaking Technology Committee
Oxygen Steelmaking Technology Committee
Specialty Alloy and Foundry Technology Committee

Refining & Casting Technology Division

Kamalesh Mandal
senior metallurgist – technical resource coordinator
Steel Dynamics. – Flat Roll Division - Columbus
5/9/2014 - 5/5/2016
Ladle and Secondary Refining Technology Committee
Continuous Casting Technology Committee

Rolling & Processing Technology Division

Kalyan K. Khan
senior research consultant
U. S. Steel Research
5/9/2014 - 5/5/2016
Hot Sheet Rolling Technology Committee
Cold Sheet Rolling Technology Committee
Galvanizing Technology Committee
Tinplate and Electrogalvanizing Technology Committee
Plate Rolling Technology Committee
Rod and Bar Rolling Technology Committee
Pipe and Tube Technology Committee
Rolls Technology Committee

Metallurgy Technology Division

Amy J. Clarke
research and development scientist
Los Alamos National Laboratory
5/9/2014 - 5/5/2016
Metallurgy-Steelmaking and Casting Technology Committee
Metallurgy-Processing, Products and Applications Technology Committee

Energy & Control Technology Division

James J. Hendrickson
division manager, Process Automation
ArcelorMittal USA
5/10/2013 - 5/7/2015
Energy and Utilities Technology Committee
Electrical Applications Technology Committee
Computer Applications Technology Committee

Plant Services & Reliability Technology Division

Colleen M. Reeves
global sales director, Metals Industry
Andronaco Industries
5/10/2013 - 5/7/2015
Project and Construction Management Technology Committee
Maintenance and Reliability Technology Committee
Lubrication and Hydraulics Technology Committee
Refractory Systems Technology Committee

Material Movement & Transportaion Technology Division

Michael A. Urbassik
advanced technology engineer
Electric Controller and Manufacturing Co. LLC.
5/10/2013 - 5/7/2015
Material Handling Technology Committee
Cranes Technology Committee
Transportation & Logistics Technology Committee

Midwest Member Chapter

Barry C. Felton
senior project manager, engineering
ArcelorMittal Burns Harbor
5/9/2014 - 5/5/2016

Northeastern Ohio Member Chapter

John T. Wilson
district account manager
MINTEQ International Inc.
5/10/2013 - 5/7/2015

Northern Member Chapter

Michael D. Morson
technology improvement coach
ArcelorMittal Dofasco Inc.
5/9/2014 - 5/5/2016

Ohio Valley Member Chapter

Thomas G. Euson
vice president
3S Inc.
5/10/2013 - 5/7/2015

Philadelphia Member Chapter

Richard H. Smith
principle metallurgist, research and development
Carpenter Technology Corporation
5/9/2014 - 5/5/2016

Pittsburgh Member Chapter

Lauren D. Keating
director, engineering projects
U. S. Steel – Mon Valley Works
5/9/2014 - 5/5/2016

Southeast Member Chapter

Michael A. Kinney
category manager
CMC Steel South Carolina
5/9/2014 - 5/5/2016

Smaller Member Chapters Representative

Robert H. Woods

Robert (Robbie) H. Woods
senior fire and safety engineer
California Steel Industries Inc.
5/10/2013 - 5/7/2015
Southern California Member Chapter
Baltimore Member Chapter
Birmingham Member Chapter
Detroit Member Chapter
Globe-Trotters Member Chapter
Mexico Member Chapter
Northwest Member Chapter
Philadelphia Member Chapter
San Francisco Member Chapter
Southwest Member Chapter
St. Louis Member Chapter

Non-NAFTA Chapters Representative

Otavio M. Sanabio
chief executive officer
O&S Consultoria e Serviços Ltda.
5/10/2013 - 5/7/2015
Brazil Member Chapter
Argentina Member Chapter
India Member Chapter
Korea Member Chapter
Australia Member Chapter