AIME Keynote and J. Keith Brimacombe Memorial Lecture

Monday, 5 May • 8–9:00 a.m. • Sagamore Ballroom 1 and 2


The AIST J. Keith Brimacombe Memorial Lecture was established in 1999 to honor Dr. J. Keith Brimacombe’s outstanding accomplishments in the area of process metallurgy, his dedication to the steel industry and his profound effect on people in the industry. This year’s lecturer is David K. Matlock, University Emeritus Professor, Colorado School of Mines. His lecture is titled “Perspectives on Industry/University Partnerships to Support Innovations in the Steel Industry.”


David Matlock is University Emeritus Professor in the George S. Ansell Department of Metallurgical and Materials Engineering at the Colorado School of Mines, where in May 2013 he retired after 41 years on the faculty. He received his B.S. degree in engineering science from the University of Texas at Austin (1968), and his M.S. (1970) and Ph.D. (1972) degrees in materials science and engineering from Stanford University.  He joined the CSM faculty as an assistant professor in 1972, progressed thorough the academic ranks, and has held the Armco Foundation Fogarty Professorship since 1981.  Throughout his career, he has been involved in teaching and research, primarily related to the mechanical properties of materials, and has published more than 400 technical articles, mostly related to steels.  In 1984, he and Prof. George Krauss founded the Advanced Steel Processing and Products Research Center (ASPPRC), an industry-university cooperative research center at CSM.  Prof. Matlock served as Center director from 1993 until his retirement and remains as an active center participant.  With 30 corporate partners, ASPPRC continues under the leadership of Prof. John Speer. Prof. Matlock is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, a Fellow of the American Society for Metals, and a Fellow of the American Welding Society.  His teaching and research efforts have led to awards from multiple professional societies, including the 2011 AIST Howe Memorial Lecture and being named an Honorary Member of AIME in 2008.