Board of Trustees

The activities, properties and affairs are managed by a Board of Trustees consisting of 12 members of AIST, appointed by the AIST Board of Directors. In addition, the Treasurer, Secretary and the Executive Director of AIST shall serve as ex officio, nonvoting members.

Foundation President

Frederick T. Harnack

Frederick T. Harnack
general manager, environmental affairs
United States Steel Corporation

Foundation Past President

Thomas J. Russo

Thomas J. Russo
chief executive officer
MMFX Technologies Corp

Foundation President Elect

Steven S. Hansen

Steven S. Hansen
vice president, CTO
SSAB Americas

Foundation Treasurer

William C. King II

William C. King II
assistant corporate controller
United States Steel Corporation

Foundation Executive Director/Secretary

Ronald E. Ashburn
executive director
Association for Iron & Steel Technology


Daniel Brisson

Daniel J. Brisson
melt/cast manager
Nucor Steel-Indiana

William Emling

William H. Emling
vice president, steelmaking & casting
SMS Siemag LLC

Eric Hauge

Eric D. Hauge
vice president & general manager
ArcelorMittal Cleveland

Kolin Keller

Kolin L. Keller
vice president, operations support
CMC Americas

Robert Kuhn

Robert C. Kuhn
vice president, sales
Riverside Refractories, Inc.

Theodore Lyon

Theodore F. Lyon
managing director
Hatch Associates Inc.

Richard Teets

Richard P. Teets Jr.
EVP/president and COO - steel operations
Steel Dynamics Inc.

Yuan Chia Wang

Yuan Chia Wang
vice president, mill operations
Gerdau Long Steel North America

Chenn Q. Zhou
Purdue University - Calumet