Technology Committees

Electric Steelmaking Technology Committee Meeting

24 August 2018 • The Broadmoor • Colorado Springs, CO, USA

►Agenda (PDF)
►Register or contact
►Add to Calendar
►Map It

Hotel Arrangements

The Broadmoor, Colorado Springs, Colorado 

A block of rooms has been reserved at The Broadmoor.  Please reserve your room online by 2 August, to secure the AIST discount rate of US$199 per night for single/double occupancy plus a $14 per day resort fee.

Friday, 24 August 2018 

8 a.m.

1. Chair’s opening remarks - Lauren Jellison
2. Appoint minute-taker
3. Antitrust guidelines
4. Membership and attendance
5. Review minutes of previous meeting
6. AIST Staff Announcements

Main Agenda Items


AISTech session development - Kyle Vanover – Papers Chair

  • Selection of Abstracts (Due by 15 Sept) 

  • Determine session structure (Due by 24 Oct) including session titles & session chairs

  • Review Papers Chair and Session Chair instructions


AIST Leadership Conference – Solicit any discussion items/concerns from the TC to be discussed at the LDC


Technology committee award planning 

  • 2019 Charles W Briggs Award winner 

  • 2019 John Bell Award winner


Technology Training conference - Harriet Dutka

  • 25th annual seminar to be held in Charleston, SC

  • Date will be 4-8 February 2019


2018 EAF Germany Study Tour update - Harriet Dutka & Patrick Hansert



  • Foamy Slag Presentation - Michael Grant – Air Liquide GMS  GmbH

  • Recent EAF Electrodes Performance Challenges - Stephan Ferenczy – SDI Columbia City

  • Electrode Modeling Concept - Zane Voss – CIX LLC

  • Current Crisis on Electrode Supply - Gilbert Hutton – CMC Arizona

  • Regulator impact on Electrode consumptions - Fernando Martinez - AMIGE

  • Electrode performance presentation from our EAF Seminar – Theo Kurela - GrafTech


Discussion items

All producers are asked to bring electrode consumption figures from their shop. Separate data by AC or DC and for DC, what is bottom life. Sam Matson – CMC Americas will organize a benchmarking program for electrode performance. 


Next meeting - Wednesday, 6 February 2019 in Charleston, SC


Chair conclusion - Lauren Jellison  

5 p.m.