Technology Committees

Energy & Utilities Technology Committee Activities

►Past Activities
The EUTC service plaque was presented to Mark Kampe
(left to right): Lou York, Rishabh Bahel, Kampe, Anup Sane
and Shailesh Gangoli.

The EUTC met 16 May 2016, Pittsburgh, PA, USA.

The following officers were elected:

  • Chair: Risbhah Bahel, ArcelorMittal Cleveland

  • Vice chair: Lou York, Case Engineering

  • Papers chair: Anup Sane, Air Products & Chemicals

  • Specialty Conference chair: Shailesh Gangoli, Air Products & Chemicals

The PTTC and EUTC met 27–28 January 2016, Houston, Texas, USA. The committees reviewed the 2015 Steel Industry Fatalities report, followed by a safety roundtable discussion.
The committees finalized their respective AISTech 2016 technical sessions. Each has three sessions scheduled. The role of the session chair was reviewed with both committees.
Nominations for PTTC and EUTC officers for the 2016–2017 term were accepted and approved.
The 2016 AIST Pipe and Tube Roundup was discussed. The Roundup parameters were revised and finalized. The PTTC plans to publish the Roundup in the August 2016 issue of Iron & Steel Technology.
The Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE), the Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG) and the American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG) have invited AIST to be a supporting organization for Unconventional Resources Technology Conference (URTeC) 2016, to be held 1–3 August 2016 in San Antonio, Texas, USA. URTeC is a science and technology event for unconventional resource development, which brings together geologists, geophysicists, engineers and business managers. Unconventional energy exploration and production includes horizontal drilling and hydraulic fracturing, or “fracking.”
The AIST Energy Achievement Award was discussed. Three candidates are being considered for this award, which will be announced before AISTech 2016.
The following presentations were given:

  • “Recent Changes in the Natural Gas and Shale Gas Plays,” by Richard Ricks of NiSource/Columbia Gas.

  • “Cartacci Straighteners and Drawbenches — Productivity and Energy Consumption,” by Fabrizio Mamoli of Cartacci S.r.l.

  • “Combustion Safety — Standards and Burner Management Systems,” by Mark Kampe of CEC Combustion Safety.

  • “Heat Recovery Systems,” by Jared Kaufman of Tenova Core.

The committees were given tours of Axalta Coatings and NACE International. 

1. Matt Miller (center), chief operating officer of NACE International, was presented with a plaque of appreciation from Mark Kampe (left), EUTC chair, and Keith Tuma (right), PTTC chair, for hosting a tour of NACE International. 2. Scott Denny (center, left) and Meghan Hodge (center, right) of Axalta Coatings were presented with a tour plaque from Keith Tuma (left) and Mark Kampe (right).

The EUTC met 1–2 September 2015, Suffolk, Va., USA. The EUTC began its AISTech 2016 session development, including the selection of abstracts, session titles and chairs, and a review of papers chair and session chair instructions.
The EUTC finalized its AISTech 2017 Call for Papers topic and discussed items to be reviewed at the AIST Leadership Conference. The Energy Achievement Award was discussed and solicitation of nominations reviewed. The Steel Mill Combustion and Thermal Systems conference was also reviewed.

The following technical presentations were given:

  • “Natural Gas Supply/Price Outlook,” by Richard Ricks, Columbia Gas/NiSource.

  • “Reduce Energy Costs/Compressed Air Blow,” by Anthony Sobczak, Silvent Intech.

  • “ZoloScan Technology,” by David Giltner, Zolo Technologies Inc.

  • “High-Temperature Ladle Refractories,” by Robert Doty, IMACRO Inc.

The next morning, the group toured the Nucor Steel–Hertford County plant in Cofield, N.C., USA.

Mark Kampe (left) presented the EUTC service plaque to Dan
Michael (right).

The EUTC met 4 May 2015, Cleveland, Ohio, USA.
The following officers were elected:

  • Chair — Mark Kampe, CEC Combustion Safety

  • Vice Chair/Energy Achievement Award Subcommittee chair — Rishabh Bahel, ArcelorMittal Cleveland

  • Papers chair — Lou York, Case Engineering Inc.

  • Technology Training Conference chair — ShailesGangoli, Air Products & Chemicals Inc.

Meeting Highlights:
The EUTC discussed  the 2015  Steel  Mill  Combustion and Thermal  Systems conference, which  will  be held  in Indianapolis, Ind., USA, in October 2015.

The EUTC met 20–21 August 2013, Hammond, Ind., USA. Jared Kaufman, EUTC chair, welcomed the attendees and led a discussion of the EUTC’s mission statement and relevance to the industry.
Nominations for the 2014 AIST Board of Directors Awards were solicited. The Steel Mill Combustion and Thermal Systems seminar, to be held 5–7 November 2013 in Cleveland, Ohio, was reviewed. An update on the Energy Achievement Award was also provided. Chenn Zhou and Bin Wu of Purdue University – Calumet gave a technical presentation on the capabilities of the Center for Innovation Through Visualization and Simulation. Kurt Anderson gave a presentation about the No. 7 blast furnace and No. 5 boiler system project at ArcelorMittal Indiana Harbor. The group then toured ArcelorMittal’s boiler house No. 5.
On the second day, Mark Kampe, EUTC papers chair, led a discussion on abstract selection for AISTech2014. Two sessions were established, one titled, “Future Trends in the Steel Industry,” and the other a joint session with the Electric Steelmaking Technology Committee. It was also decided that the EUTC would solicit papers and develop a session exploring how natural gas revolution will shape the North American steel industry.