Technology Committees

Metallurgy — Processing, Products & Applications Technology Committee Activities

►Past Activities

The MPPATC met 5 May 2015, Cleveland, Ohio, USA.
The following officers were elected:

  • Chair — Amy Woods, Steel Dynamics Inc. – Flat Roll Group Butler

  • Vice chair — Amar De, ArcelorMittal Research & Development

  • MS&T Programming chair — Emmanuel De Moor, Colorado School of Mines

  • Papers chair — Matt Enloe, General Motors

  • Awards chair — Ron Radzilowski, AK Steel Corp. – Dearborn Works

Meeting Highlights:
Matt  Enloe  updated the group on the three technical sessions organized by the MPPATC at AISTech 2015.
Amar De provided an update on the three iron and steel symposia  organized  for  MS&T15, which  will  be  held  in Columbus,  Ohio, USA, on 4–8 October 2015. Within the three symposia  will be 12 sessions focused on advanced steel  metallurgy;  the shaping  and forming of AHSS; and steels for the oil and gas industry. There will also be three sessions organized on phase stability, diffusion and kinetics. A discussion was held regarding   future  advanced technology symposia to be organized by the MPPATC similar to the International Conference on Advances in Metallurgy of Long and Forged Products held in Vail, Colo., USA, on 12–15 July  2015. Potential  future symposia  could  include  steel products such as plate, AHSS, and the application of AHSS.

The MPPATC met on 29 October 2013,  in Montreal, Que., Canada, during MS&T’13.  Kester Clarke provided an update on the Iron & Steel sessions being held at MS&T’13. He reported that there were 106 presentations and 10 posters organized into five symposia for the Iron & Steel topic. The session organizers were pleased with the attendance at the sessions. Amy Woods reported on the planned symposia for MS&T’14, which will be in Pittsburgh, Pa., in October 2014. The five planned symposia are: Railroad Tank Car; Advanced Steel Metallurgy Products, Processes and Applications; Ferrous Metallurgy — Past and Present; Structural Characteristics of High-Toughness Steels; and a memorial symposium for Michael Korchynsky on vanadium microalloying. Amar De of ArcelorMittal Research & Development volunteered to be the AIST representative to the MS&T’15 programming committee. Bhaskar Yalamanchili, Gerdau Long Steel North America, reported on the MPPATC sessions being organized for AISTech 2014. There will be a total of five sessions, two of which will be jointly programmed with Wire Association International, which will co-locate their Operations Summit & Wire Expo 2014 with AISTech 2014 in Indianapolis, Ind.
MPPATC members then provided updates on the MPPATC-sponsored Specialty Training Conferences. Emmanual De Moor provided an overview of AIST’s International Symposium on the New Developments of Advanced High-Strength Steel, held in Vail Colo., in June 2013. Kip Findley volunteered to organize a conference on long products in 2015.
The meeting concluded with the presentation of the AIST 2013 Gilbert R. Speich, Jerry Silver and Richard J.  Fruehan Awards:
• Jerry Silver Award: Erica Sampson and Sridhar Seetharaman, “Effect of Si on Hot Shortness.”
• Gilbert R. Speich Award: Cristina Revilla, Pello Uranga, Beatriz Lopez and Jose Rodriguez-Ibabe, “Control of Carbide Distributions by Modifying Heating Rates in Induction Tempering Treatments.”
• Richard J. Fruehan Award: Jorge Nieto, Tomas Elias, German Lopez, Gustavo Campos, Francisco Lopez, Ruben Garcia and Amar De, “Development of Technology for the Production of HIC-Resistant Slabs for Sour Service Applications at ArcelorMittal Lazaro Cardenas, Mexico.”