

FROM: <u>Association for Iron & Steel Technology (AIST)</u> 186 Thorn Hill Road Warrendale, PA 15086 USA

CONTACT: <u>Stacy Varmecky</u> +1.724.814.3066



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

INDUSTRY LEADERS CHOSEN FOR SIGNIFICANT CONTRIBUTIONS TO AIST AND THE GLOBAL IRON AND STEEL INDUSTRY

PITTSBURGH, 3 March 2014 — <u>The Association for Iron & Steel Technology (AIST)</u> recognizes, through peer reviews, the active leadership and significant contributions of individuals or companies to AIST and the global iron and steel industry. The Board of Directors Awards and Recognition Program serves to highlight those who have improved and advanced the steelmaking process, as well as challenging their colleagues to continue, and even exceed, the technological and developmental gains spotlighted by these achievements.

The following AIST Board of Directors Awards will be presented at the President's Award Breakfast during <u>AISTech 2014</u> on 6 May 2014 in Indianapolis, Ind., USA:

<u>Hunt-Kelly Outstanding Paper Award (AIME)</u> — This award recognizes the author(s) of the best published paper of the previous year: US\$5,000 for first place, US\$2,500 for second place and US\$1,000 for third place.

First Place — Debdutta Roy, Saint-Gobain Abrasives; P. Chris Pistorius, Carnegie Mellon University; Richard J. Fruehan, Carnegie Mellon University

These authors were selected to receive this year's honor for their paper entitled, "The Effect of Silicon on the Desulfurization of Al-Killed Steels."

Second Place — Nicholas A. Gregurich, ArcelorMittal Burns Harbor; Garrett P. Flick, ArcelorMittal Burns Harbor; Rudolf Moravev, ArcelorMittal Global R&D; Kenneth E. Blazek, ArcelorMittal Global R&D

These authors were selected to receive this award for their paper entitled, "In-Depth Analysis of Continuous Caster Machine Behavior During Casting with Different Roll Gap Taper Profiles."

Third Place — Gisèle Walmag, CRM Group; Sebastian Flament, CRM Group; Jürgen Malbrancke, CRM Group; Geneviève Moreas, CRM Group; Mario Sinnaeve, Marichal-Ketin

These authors were selected for their paper entitled, "Development of New Materials Based on On-Site and Laboratory Evaluation Methods for Understanding Work Roll Surface Degradation."

<u>AIST William T. Hogan, S.J. Lecture Award</u> — Established in 1990, this honorary lecturer is selected in recognition of individual outstanding leadership to the iron and steel industry, with selected lectures covering trade, economics, steel industry operations, developments or forecasts.

Mark D. Millett, president and chief executive officer, Steel Dynamics Inc.

Industry Leaders Chosen for Recognition at AISTech 2014 Page 2

<u>AIST Tadeusz Sendzimir Memorial Medal</u> — This distinguished award was established in 1990 to perpetuate the memory of Dr. Tadeusz Sendzimir's achievements and engineering contributions in developing process equipment for the steel industry. The award is presented in recognition of an individual who has advanced steelmaking through the invention, development or application of new manufacturing processes or equipment.

John G. Speer, Colorado School of Mines

<u>AIST Distinguished Member and Fellow Awards</u> — Established in 1975, the Distinguished Member and Fellow Award is presented to an AIST member who has attained eminent distinction in advancing the technical development, production, processing and application of iron and steel and/or related activities of the industry and has performed meritorious service to the association.

Thomas W. Goettge, retired, United States Steel Corporation Kent D. Peaslee (posthumously), Missouri University of Science and Technology

<u>John F. Elliott Lectureship Award</u> — Established in 1990, this honorary lectureship is designed to acquaint students and engineers with the exciting opportunities in chemical process metallurgy and materials chemistry. This lecturer is selected in recognition of distinguished contributions in chemical process metallurgy and materials chemistry to the iron and steel industry.

Arthur D. Pelton, École Polytechnique

<u>J. Keith Brimacombe Memorial Lecture</u> — This award was established in 1999 to honor Dr. J. Keith Brimacombe's outstanding accomplishments in the area of process metallurgy, his dedication to the steel industry and his profound effect on people in the industry. The award is granted in recognition of an individual dedicated to the steel industry to acquaint members, students and engineers with the many exciting opportunities that exist in the area of process metallurgy and to inspire them to pursue careers in this field.

David K. Matlock, Colorado School of Mines

Dr. Matlock will present his lecture on Monday, 5 May at AISTech 2014. His lecture is entitled, "Perspectives on Industry/University Partnerships to Support Innovations in the Steel Industry."

<u>Benjamin F. Fairless Award (AIME)</u> — This award was established in 1954 in honor of Benjamin F. Fairless, chairman of the board of United States Steel Corporation, for his intense interest in the technology and development of the iron and steel industry. This award recognizes distinguished achievement in iron and steel production and ferrous metallurgy.

Johannes Schade, AK Steel Corp.

<u>Outstanding Chapter Growth Award</u> — The AIST Outstanding Chapter Growth Award was established in 1996 as the Past President's Award. Two awards will be presented each year to the AIST Member Chapters. The first award recognizes the chapter with the greatest percentage increase in new membership and the second award recognizes the chapter with the greatest numerical increase in membership.

India Member Chapter — S.S. Mohanty, Steel Authority of India Ltd., will accept the award on behalf of the India Member Chapter

The <u>President's Award Breakfast</u> is one of the signature events of AISTech 2014, North America's largest gathering of steel industry personnel. AISTech 2014 will be held 5–8 May at the Indiana Convention Center, Indianapolis, Ind., USA, and will offer a program with hundreds of technical presentations, an expansive exposition, plant tours, a unique town hall forum and keynote presentations by today's business leaders.

Media passes for AISTech 2014 are complimentary. To attend the President's Award Breakfast or other events, please complete the <u>online press registration form</u>.

Industry Leaders Chosen for Recognition at AISTech 2014 Page 3

<u>AIST</u> is an international technical association of more than 16,000 professional and student members, representing iron and steel producers, their allied suppliers and related academia. The association is dedicated to advancing the technical development, production, processing and application of iron and steel.

###

Editor's Note:

For individual photos or more information, please contact <u>Stacy Varmecky</u>, General Manager — Membership Services, AIST, Phone: +1.724.814.3066.