Steel News

U. S. Steel Board Elects David S. Sutherland as Non-Executive Chairman

12/4/2013 - United States Steel Corporation announced that its Board of Directors elected David S. Sutherland to the position of independent, non-executive chairman effective 1 January 2014.
As previously announced, executive chairman John P. Surma will retire on 31 December 2013.
Sutherland, 64, joined the U. S. Steel board in 2008 and serves on the Compensation and Organization Committee and the Corporate Governance and Public Policy Committee.  He is the retired president and chief executive officer of the former IPSCO, Inc., a leading North American steel producer.  Sutherland is also a director of GATX Corporation and Imperial Oil, Ltd.