Steel News

World Steel Association Elects New Chairman

10/7/2013 - The Board of Directors of the World Steel Association (worldsteel) has elected the following new officers for 2013/2014:
Joon-Yang Chung, 2013/2014 worldsteel chairmanThe Board of Directors of the World Steel Association (worldsteel) has elected the following new officers for 2013/2014:
Chairman: POSCO chairman and CEO Joon-Yang Chung 
Vice Chairmen: Severstal JSC CEO Alexey Mordashov, voestalpine AG CEO and chairman Wolfgang Eder 
Treasurer: JFE Steel Corporation CEO and president Eiji Hayashida 
The new chairman takes office from Wednesday 9 October 2013. The new officers are elected for one year, until October 2014. The Board of Directors met on the first day of worldsteel’s 47th Annual Conference in São Paulo, Brazil.
On behalf of the Board of Directors, World Steel Association director general Edwin Basson thanked 2012/2013 Chairman Alexey Mordashov for his leadership and active engagement over the past year. Edwin Basson said: “We welcome Joon-Yang Chung as the new chairman, Alexey Mordashov and Wolfgang Eder as vice chairmen and Eiji Hayashida as treasurer. We are also delighted to welcome our new members on board.
“We would like to take this opportunity to thank U. S. Steel ChairmanJohn Surma, who is retiring as treasurer of worldsteel, for his contribution to the global steel industry. He was chairman of the association in 2006/2007, and has served as a member of worldsteel’s Executive Committee since 2004 and as treasurer since 2009. John Surma has been a tireless and dedicated steel champion around the world. We wish him well for the future.”
The Board of Directors also elected the 2013/14 Executive Committee:
  • Joon-Yang Chung, POSCO 
  • Wolfgang Eder, voestalpine AG
  • John Ferriola, Nucor Corporation
  • Eiji Hayashida, JFE Steel Corporation 
  • Heinrich Hiesinger, ThyssenKrupp AG
  • Sajjan Jindal, JSW Steel Ltd
  • André Gerdau Johannpeter, Gerdau SA
  • Mario Longhi, United States Steel Corporation 
  • Lakshmi Mittal, ArcelorMittal 
  • Alexey Mordashov, Severstal JSC
  • Shoji Muneoka, Nippon Steel & Sumitomo Metal Corporation
  • Paolo Rocca, Techint Group
  • Lejiang Xu, Baosteel Group Corporation
  • Xiaogang Zhang, Anshan Iron & Steel Group Corporation
  • Edwin Basson, World Steel Association
The Board of Directors also welcomed the following companies as new members of worldsteel:

Regular members (steel companies producing more than 2 million tons (1.8 million metric tons) per annum)
  • Emirates Steel Industries Company PJC, represented by Saeed Al Romaithi 
  • ILVA S.P.A., represented by Mr Federico Bondi 
  • RIVA FORNI ELETTRICI S.P.A., represented by Cesare Federico Riva
Associate Members (steel companies producing less than 2 million tons (1.8 million metric tons) per annum) 
  • Usha Martin Limited, represented by Prashant Jhawar
  • Walia Steel Industry plc, represented by Sisay Tefaye Bekele
  • Visa Steel Limited, represented by Vishal Agarwal
Affiliated members (steel related associations, federations, and research organizations)
  • American Institute of Steel Construction, represented by John Cross
  • Azerbaijani Society of Metallurgists, represented by Goshgar Ismayl