About AIST

Nathan Berry (right) presented the 2023 Don B. Daily Award to Malcom Dunbar (left).

Don B. Daily Safety Award

►Award Recipients

History and Purpose

This award was established in 2009 in honor of Don B. Daily, president of Gallatin Steel, for his leadership and undeniable passion to improve safety throughout the steel industry. Don B. Daily was an advocate of safety and had the profound effect of making safety personal with every person he met. The Don B. Daily Safety Award is presented to the author of a safety or health presentation judged by the Safety & Health Technology Committee (SHTC) best presented during any one of the following annual events: The Safety and Health Technology Training Conference, Safety First Article, Globe-Trotters Annual Meeting, SHTC meeting, or as a safety or health technical presentation at AISTech.