Mena Steel Forum


Media Partner 

Technical Program

Tuesday, 30 November – Thursday, 2 December 2021 • Virtual Event

Tuesday, 30 November 2021

10:00 EET/3:00 A.M. EST 

Introduction to the MENA Steel Forum

Mohamed Saied 
Level 2 Automation Manager, EZDK Steel, and Chair, AIST MENA Member Chapter

10:30 EET/3:30 A.M. EST 

Steel Industry in the Digital Era 

In the new digital era of this technological revolution, to what extent will the steel industry be able to benefit? In this session, the presenters will share practical case studies for adopting digitalization principles in the iron and steel industry. The session will focus on adopting artificial intelligence, machine learning and Industrial Internet of Things.

Moderator:

Mohamed Saied
Level 2 Automation Manager, EZDK Steel, and Chair, AIST MENA Member Chapter

Presenters:

“Refractory Lifetime Management Using Machine Learning,” Gregor Lammer, Head of AI and APO, RHI Magnesita

“Scrap Classification in Combination With TPQC System,” Adnan Husakovic, Software Engineer, Primetals Technologies

“Machine Learning and Steel,” Alp Kucukelbir, Chief Scientist, Fero Labs, and Assistant Professor (Adj.), Columbia University

“Full Automation and Digitalization of Equipment Operation Processes of DRP,” Ahmed Algerawy, Direct Reduction Plant Electrical Maintenance Manager, EZDK Steel

13:00 EET/6:00 A.M. EST 

Improving EAF Operations Through Innovation

Moderator:

Ashraf Hanna
Director Primary Metallurgy, RHI Magnesita

Presenters:

 

“Key Assumptions Used in the Calculation of Sustainability,” Dr. Thomas Battle, Senior Consulting Engineer, Extractive Metallurgy Consultants

 

“Predicting Process Parameters During Electric Arc Furnace Refining Stage,” Prof. Dr. Ayman Fathi and Dr. Mohamed ElKoumy, Al Ezz Flat Steel

 

Jozi Shuli, Proposal Manager, Danieli & C. Officine Meccaniche S.p.A

 

Dr. Jürgen Cappel, Managing Director, Cappel Stahl Consulting GmbH

 

Representative From SMS group Inc.

Wednesday, 1 December 2021

10:00 EET/3:00 A.M. EST 

Improved Process and Enhancements in Long Products Continuous Casting

Moderator:

 

Dr. Gamal Megahed
General Manager for Technical Affairs, Egyptian Steel

Presenters:

 

Hesham Saad
Deputy Managing Director, Arabian Steel

 

Moustafa Selim
CCM Manager, Egyptian Steel

 

Dr. Masoud Al-Gahtani
Hadeed Steel

 

Jozi Shuli
Proposal Manager, Danieli & C. Officine Meccaniche S.p.A.

 

Luigi Alessio
Regional Sales Manager, SMS group GmbH

 

13:00 EET/6:00 A.M. EST 

Industrial Safety Concerns in Steel Plants

Moderator:

Karim Alshurafa
General Manager Sales and Marketing, SMS group Inc.

Presenters:

 

“Safe Control and Saving Energy (Natural Gas) for Reheating Furnaces in Rolling Mill Plants,” Mohamed Elshayeb, Technical Office and Production Manager, Elgarhy Steel, and Badawy Baghdady, Plant General Manager, Elgarhy Steel

Eric Almquist
Engineer/Sales, Star Tool & Die Works Inc. 

 

Ramy Yakout
Industrial Safety Manager, EZDK Steel

 

Hossam Elsharabasy
Safety Section Head, Egyptian Steel

Thursday, 2 December 2021

14:00 EET/7:00 A.M. EST

Global Competitive Advantages in DRI-Dominant Regions

Moderator:

Karim Badr
Marketing Director MENA Region, RHI Magnesita Middle East

Presenters: 

 

“Challenges of Ironmaking via DRI Route,” Raul Brown, Manager – DRP 1&3, Emirates Steel

 

“DRI Technology’s Trends and Innovations,” Angelo Manenti, President, Metal Consulting LLC

 

Mohamed Sobih
DRP Acting Manager, Algerian Qatari Steel

 

Representative From EZZ Flat Steel Company