Past Events

Modern Electric Steelmaking

The 20th annual electric steelmaking training seminar was held on 3–7 February 2014 in Birmingham, Ala., USA. CMC Steel Alabama was the host plant, with Jonathan Ridgeway, CMC Alabama meltshop manager, as the keynote speaker. Ridgeway was one of the original organizers of the AISE Electric Steelmaking Training Seminar in 1995. Larry Heaslip, InterFlow Technologies, and Jeremy Jones, CIX LLC, were recognized for participating as presenters in their 20th consecutive training seminar. This year’s seminar attracted 173 attendees. It would have been the 19th year of attendance for Dave Bauer, Erie Copper Works Inc., but Bauer passed away in 2013. Many of the presenters — 15 of them, in fact — have participated in the EAF conference for multiple years. The training seminar also included a panel discussion with the following panelists: Jeremy Jones; Dennis Rodal, ELG Haniel Metals Corp.; Jonathan Ridgeway; Harriet Dutka, Magnesita Refractories; and Eugene Pretorius, Nucor Steel–Berkeley. Next year’s electric steelmaking training seminar will be held on 2–6 February 2015 in Cleveland, Ohio, USA.

1. Plant tour hosts for CMC Steel Alabama were presented with a plaque of appreciation (left to right): Michele Dykes, safety manager; Jonathan Ridgeway, meltshop manager; Leanne Hull; Vince Hodges; and Matt Butler. 2. The 20th Modern Electric Steelmaking Training Seminar included a panel discussion (left to right): Jonathan Ridgeway, Dennis Rodal, Harriet Dutka, Jeremy Jones and Eugene Pretorius. Sam Matson, Electric Steelmaking Technology Committee (ESTC) chair, is also pictured, standing. 3. Presenters and panelists at the 20th Modern Electric Steelmaking Training Seminar (left to right): Raymond Monroe, Eugene Pretorius, Dennis Rodal, Sam Matson, Jonathan Ridgeway, Larry Heaslip, Jeremy Jones, Harriet Dutka, Helmut Oltmann, Mike Grant and Brett McGee. 4. Two members of the original  AISE Electric Steelmaking Division were honored. Robert Bullard, Gerdau, and Jonathan Ridgeway, CMC Steel Alabama, were part of the training seminar organizing committee since 1993. Larry Heaslip and Jeremy Jones were honored for participating in all 20 EAF training seminars since the first one in 1995. Pictured left to right: Sam Matson; Robert Bullard; Jonathan Ridgeway; Larry Heaslip; Jeremy Jones; Francesco Memoli, AIST Division III Board Director; and Brett McGee, ESTC education chair. 5. Jonathan Ridgeway was presented with a plaque of appreciation for his keynote lecture at the 20th Modern Electric Steelmaking Training Seminar (left to right): Sam Matson, Jonathan Ridgeway and Brett McGee.