Achieving the Limit of Interbillet Time to Increase Bar Mill Production

Sponsored By

Thursday, 10 December 2020 • 11 a.m.–Noon EDT
►Register Now 


Francesco Scarlassara
Francesco Scarlassara is an electrical engineer specializing in automation controls development and standardization for metal production. He began his career as a rolling mill commissioning engineer with Ansaldo Sistemi Industriali in 1992. In 2003, he was promoted to the R&D department to develop mill automation and steel products tracking solutions. His experience also includes copper mill automation (from melting to coils), large photovoltaic plant power control and grid interfacing, embedded system firmware development, low-voltage drives, and IT infrastructure design. He now specializes in root-cause analysis, troubleshooting and production improvement. He also assists commissioning teams for plant automation fine-tuning and Industry 4.0 implementation.
Bill Merkel
Bill began his career at Nidec Industrial Solutions in 2011 as manager, product development. He is responsible for the management of North American drives and systems sales channels, project estimation, and new product development programs. He previously managed the U.S. project engineering and field service functions. He has more than 20 years of experience in electrical engineering, global product management, business development, and business unit management in the instrumentation, automation, and power industries. Merkel holds a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering from Youngstown State University.


Interbillet time is one of the few performance improvements available to increase production. Achieving a mill’s limit of performance while not increasing cobble rates is a significant engineering challenge. This webinar will introduce a method for assessing the potential for interbillet time improvement and implementation. It includes a case study of a successful revamp with representative return on investment and break-even time for the project.




AIST’s Long Products Technology Committees.