Technology Committees

Continuous Casting Technology Committee Meeting

23 October 2019 • Holiday Inn Downtown Memphis • Memphis, TN, USA

Tour of Nucor Steel—Arkansas or Nucor Steel Memphis Inc

►Agenda (PDF)
►Register or contact


Holiday Inn Downtown Memphis
160 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
30 September 2019 for AIST Room Rate of $139
For reservations, Book Here  

AIST technology committee members are asked to print out the latest revised meeting agenda from our website one week prior to this meeting.

8 a.m.

1. Chair’s opening remarks—Rudolf Morave
2. Appoint minute-taker
3. Antitrust guidelines
4. Membership and attendance
5. Review minutes of previous meeting
6. AIST Staff Announcements

Main agenda items


AISTech session development

  • Selection of Abstracts (Due by 15 Sept) 

  • Determine session structure (Due by 30 Oct) including session titles & session chairs

  • Review Papers Chair and Session Chair instructions

  • Volunteers for Session Chair position


Finalize call for papers for next year


AIST Leadership Conference

  • Solicit any discussion items/concerns from the TC to be discussed at the LDC

  • Determine who from the committee is attending


Continuous Casting Best Paper Award


Review committee roundup


Determine 2020 Technology Training conference location

  • October 2020 Birmingham (?)

  • Tours of Nucor Tuscaloosa (?) & CMC Alabama (?)


Continuous Casting Study Tour to South Korea

  • 22-27 March 2019

  • Sign up by 15 December 2019 to secure your spot!


Discussion items

  • Technical topics & presenters— Caster Automation with a Safety Focus

  • Please contact Rudolf Moravev ( or Yury Krotov ( in you are interested in presenting 


Next meeting

  • 11-12 February, 2020 Mobile, AL joint meeting with the Pipe & Tube Technology Committee 

  • Tours of SSAB Alabama and Berg Pipe Mobile 

  • Technical topics and presenters suggestions Include: 

    1. Caster center line 

    2. Slab Quality/Integrity 

    3. Slab/Billet Cracking 


Chair conclusion—Rudolf Moravec




Tour of either Nucor Steel—Arkansas or Nucor Steel Memphis Inc. after meeting


Upon conclusion of the tour please attend the Panel Discussion and Reception at the hotel