Technology Committees

Hot Sheet Rolling and Pipe & Tube Technology Committess Joint Meeting

25–26 January 2023 • Residence Inn Corpus Christi Downtown • Corpus Christi, TX, USA

Tour of SDI-Sinton, TX

►Agenda (PDF)
►Register or contact

Hotel Arrangements

Residence Inn Corpus Christi Downtown
309 S. Shoreline Blvd Corpus Christi, Texas 78401
Reserve by 9 January 2023 for AIST Room Rate of $149
For reservations, book online.

AIST technology committee members are asked to print out the latest revised meeting agenda from our website one week prior to this meeting.

Wednesday January 25, 2023

9:15 a.m.

SDI-Sinton Tour:  
Carpooling is encouraged
Meet at 9:15 AM CST at the Front Gate:  8534 Hwy 89, Sinton, Texas 78387

PPE, Personal Protection Equipment suggested:  Long-sleeved shirts, and long pants, eye and hearing protection, and close toed hard soled footwear.  SDI will provide PPE for those who don’t want to travel with their own, except the footwear.

Noon CST

Lunch, Residence Inn Corpus Christi Downtown

1 p.m. CST

1. Chair’s opening remarks - Rajat Bathla and Allen Schaneman
2. Appoint minute-taker
3. Antitrust guidelines
4. Membership and attendance
5. Review minutes of previous meeting 25-Oct  and  28-Sept
6. AIST Staff Announcements
7. AIST Steel Industry Fatalities

Main agenda items


  • Committee Best Paper Award – progress report, Ashish Singh

  • Finalize AISTech sessions - David Johnson and Jorge Fernandez

    • Papers due to AIST (18 February)

    • Author Registration deadline (1 March)

    • Presentation Draft Due in to AIST (18 March)

    • Re-emphasize the role of Session Chair and Papers Chair

2:30 p.m. CST



  • Nominations for committee officers:

    • HSRTC:
      Chair – Rajat Bathla
      Vice Chair – Ashish Singh
      Papers Chair – Jorge Fernandez
      Education Chair – Nancy Hake and Keegan Wright
      Roundup Chair – David Rosburg
      Young Professional Chair – Jorge Fernandez
      Digital Transformation Liaison – David Colbert
      Decarbonization Liaison – Rob Brunelli

    • PTTC:
      Chair – Allen Schaneman
      Vice Chair – Susan Conley
      Papers Chair – David Johnson
      Education Chair – David Johnson
      Roundup Chair – Roger Chmura
      Young Professional Chair – nominations being accepted
      Digital Transformation Liaison – nominations being accepted
      Decarbonization Liaison – Frank Baumgardner

  • Finalize committee roundup - Roger Chmura and David Rosburg

  • Technology Training conference – David Johnson, Nancy Hake and Keegan Wright


Thursday January 26, 2023

7:30 a.m. CST


8:30 a.m. CST

Main agenda items, Continuing from the day before:

  • Decarbonization Liaison Report – Rob Brunelli and Frank Baumgardner

  • Discuss AIST Digital Transformation Subcommittee - David Colbert

  • Young professional recruitment subcommittee - Jorge Fernandez


Discussion items

  1. Roundtable discussion on recent CSP Mill Start-up experiences

  2. Victor Monreale with Thermatool “Toward a method for precise heat input control for HF Weld Pipe and Tube”

  3. David Cernava with Inductotherm “Electrification of the Reheat Furnace”


Next meeting


Chair conclusion

Noon CST