Technology Committees

Ironmaking Technology Conmittee Meeting

8 May 2023Huntington Place, Room 113AB • Detroit, MI, USA

►Agenda (PDF)
►Register or contact


1. Chair’s opening remarks—Kyle Ferron
2. Appoint minute-taker—K. Ferron
3. Antitrust guidelines— K. Ferron
4. Membership and attendance—Lauren Dlugopolski
5. Review minutes of previous meeting— K. Ferron
6. AIST Staff Announcements— L. Dlugopolski

Main agenda items

  • Technology Committee award

    • Josef S. Kapitan

      • “Improving Blast Furnace Efficiency and Reducing Carbon Emissions With Blast Furnace Oxygen Pulsing Technology” Ross Edmond, Rainer Klock, Bartosz Smaha, Hauke Bartusch

    • Thomas L. Joseph

      • Stuart Street, Cleveland Cliffs

    • J.E. Johnson

  • Review & Approve Mission Statement

    • To provide members with information regarding ironmaking manufacturing to include developing technologies, maintenance, and process and operating information.

  • Discuss Nominations for Board of Director Level Awards—Distinguished Member and Fellow, Sendzimir Award, Fairless Award and Steelmaker of the Year nominations

  • Develop committee objectives for next year

    • Meeting Locations

      • September 2023 Hibbing, Minn., USA tour of U.S. Steel Minntac iron ore mines? Or tour of USS Gary?

      • What are the Technical Topic to be discussed and possible presenters

    • Potential Conferences/Webinars etc.

  • Elect New Officers—current nominations listed below

    • Chair—Joe Morey (USS)

    • Vice Chair—Brian Black (SMS)

    • Papers Chair—Jesse Carreau (AMTS)

    • Vice Papers—Achinta Haldar (Stelco)

    • YP Chair—Husain Tapia (AM Dofasco)

    • Roundup Chair—Stuart Street (Cleveland Cliffs)

  • Present Chair Plaque to Kyle Ferron for his year of service to the Ironmaking Technology Committee—Joe Morey


Discussion items

  • Any additional discussion items please let Kyle Ferron know

Next meeting - September 2023 location needs determined

Chair conclusion—J. Morey

1:30 p.m.