Technology Committees

Ladle & Secondary Refining Technology Committee Meeting

17 October 2019 • Hilton Palacio Del Rio • San Antonio, TX, USA

►Agenda (PDF)
►Register or contact

Hotel Arrangements

Hilton Palacio Del Rio
200 S Alamo St, San Antonio, TX 78205
Reserve by 23 September 2019 for AIST Room Rate of $189
For reservations, BOOK HERE  

AIST technology committee members are asked to print out the latest revised meeting agenda from our website one week prior to this meeting.

8 a.m.

Bus will depart for tour of CMC Steel Texas at 8am. Committee meeting to follow.


1. Chair’s opening remarks—Matt Hallam  
2. Appoint minute-taker
3. Antitrust guidelines
4. Membership and attendance
5. Review minutes of previous meeting
6. AIST Staff Announcements

Main agenda items


AISTech session development

  • Review selection of abstracts (Due by 15 Sept)

  • Determine session structure (Due by 30 Oct) including session titles & session chairs

  • Review Papers Chair and Session Chair instructions


Finalize call for papers for next year


AIST Leadership Conference

  • Solicit any discussion items/concerns from the TC to be discussed at the LDC

  • Determine who from the committee is attending


Ladle & Secondary Refining Technology committee Best Paper award 


2020 Technology Training conference location

  • Roanoke, VA

  • Tour of SDI Roanoke 


Continuous Casting Study Tour to South Korea 

  • 22-27 March 2020

  • Sign up by 15 December 2019 to secure your spot!


Discussion items

  • <meeting topic and presentations to be filled in by Committee Chair>


Next meeting

  • Possibly meeting in Indianapolis and visiting SDI, or visiting an alloy supplier in another location


Chair conclusion-- Matt Hallam

4 p.m.