Technology Committees

Metallurgy — Steelmaking & Casting Technology Committee Meeting

6 May 2019 • David L. Lawrence Convention Center, Room 324 • Pittsburgh, PA, USA

►Agenda (PDF)
►Register or contact


1. Chair’s opening remarks—Pallava Kaushik
2. Appoint minute-taker
3. Antitrust guidelines
4. Membership and attendance
5. Review minutes of previous meeting
6. AIST Staff Announcements

Main agenda items


Technology Committee awards

  • Joint award with LSRTC Kent D. Peaslee Award— Hamed Abdeyazdan, Brian Monaghan, Neslihan Dogan, M. Akbar Rhamdhani, Raymond Longbottom, Michael Chapman “Interfacial Tension in the CaO-Al2O3-SiO2-(MgO) Liquid Slag–Solid Oxide Systems.”

  • This award to be presented during the Kent D. Peaslee Memorial session Wednesday at 8am in Room 411


Review Mission Statement

  • MISSION: To advance the knowledge of the science, technology and metallurgy of steelmaking and casting as they apply to upstream and downstream processes and products. We shall achieve these goals by providing opportunities for publication, training and technology exchange through the interaction of metals producers, equipment suppliers and academia.


Board of Director Level Awards Nominations for Distinguished Member and Fellow, Sendzimir Award, Fairless Award and Steelmaker of the Year nominations


Develop committee objectives for next year

  • Meeting Locations

    • Fall meeting Lawrence Livermore National Lab near San Francisco, CA

    • Winter meeting possible joint meeting with LSRTC in Indianapolis, IN or visiting an alloy supplier

  • Technical Topic to be discussed and possible presenters


Elect New Officers

  • Chair—Pallava Kaushik, ArcelorMittal Global R&D

  • Vice Chair—Bryan Webler, Carnegie Mellon University & Alyssa Briere, Stelco

  • Papers Chair—Thinium Natarajan, US Steel 

  • Membership Chair—

  • IQRS Chair—Bill Jones, USS Granite City Works


Present Chair Plaque to Pallava in thanks for his year of service to the committee. Photos will be taken with the AIST photographer outside of the room before lunch.


Discussion items

a.    Please contact Anna Voss if you have any discussion items to add before the meeting.


Next meeting
September 2019 with a plant tour of Lawrence Livermore National Lab. 


Chair conclusion—Pallava Kaushik

1 p.m.