Technology Committees

Transportation & Logistics and Material Handling Technology Committees Joint Meeting

Wednesday, 30 June 2021Music City Center, Room 110A • Nashville, TN USA 

►Agenda (PDF)
►Register or contact

12:30 p.m.

1. Chair’s opening remarks – Bruce Zimmerman & Kevin Ray
2. Appoint minute-taker
3. Antitrust guidelines
4. Membership and attendance
5. Review minutes of previous meeting
6. AIST Staff Announcements

Main agenda items

  • Review Mission Statements:

    • MHTC: To serve and support the iron and steel industry by providing forums for technical information exchange, personal development and networking through technically focused committee meetings, participation in the annual AISTech conference, and joint committee ventures that promote safe and cost-effective methods for material handling.

    •  ​TLTC:  To support the iron and steel industry by providing forums for technical advancement with safe and cost-effective material movement by land, air, rail or water for the continuous transporting improvement of raw materials to finished steel products.

  • Nominations for Board of Director Level Awards—Distinguished Member and Fellow, Sendzimir Award, Fairless Award and Steelmaker of the Year nominations

  • Develop committee objectives for next year

  • Meeting Locations

    • MHTC:  Fort Worth, TX for Fall meeting (joint with SHTC) and Las Vegas for Winter meeting

    • TLTC:  Need suggestions for joint meeting with the AAR for Winter meeting

  • Technical Topic to be discussed and possible presenters

  • Conferences/Webinars – Safety & Health/Material Handling/Transportation & Logistics Conference – scheduled for Fall 2022

  • Elect New Officers

  • MHTC:

    • Chair – Jesse DeSpain

    • Vice Chair – Will Jones

    • Papers Chair – Michael Leard

    • Education Chairs – Larry Guinn & Everette Davis

    • Young Professional Chair – OPEN

    • Digital Transformation Liaison – Michael Leard

  • TLTC:

    • Chair – Joseph Cutchin

    • Vice Chair – Chance Suggs

    • Papers Chair – Mike Forbush

    • Education Chairs – Larry Guinn & Everette Davis

    • OTLR Chair – Rance Wetzel

    • Young Professional Chair – Drake Snarski

    • Digital Transformation Liaison – Ed LaBruna

  • Present Chair Plaques – Thank you to Bruce Zimmerman & Kevin Ray for your two years of service to the committees as the Chairs. 


Next meeting
MHTC:  November 3, 2021 in Fort Worth, TX (following the Safety Congress) – joint meeting with the Safety & Health Technology Committee
TLTC:  First week of October – Virtual Meeting


Chair conclusion

1:30 p.m.