About AIST

Steven Henderson presented the 2022 AIST John F. Elliott Lectureship to In-Ho Jung (right).

In-Ho Jung / Professor, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Seoul National University, Seoul, South Korea

For his development of comprehensive thermodynamic databases and process simulation models for applications to iron- and steelmaking processes, and for his education of computational thermodynamics for the global pyrometallurgy community.

John F. Elliott Lectureship

►Nomination Form
►Award Recipients

History and Purpose

The AIST John F. Elliott Lectureship was established in 1990 to perpetuate the memory of the late professor John F. Elliott, of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, for his outstanding career as an educator in the field of chemical process metallurgy. This honorary lectureship is designed to acquaint students and engineers with the exciting opportunities in chemical process metallurgy and materials chemistry. It is presented in recognition of distinguished contributions in chemical process metallurgy and materials chemistry to the iron and steel industry. The recipient shall present a lecture at three or more universities, national or international throughout the year following selection. Travel expenses will be reimbursed up to $7,500. Historical award documentation is available here.

Nomination Process

Nominations shall be made by submitting the AIST Award Nomination Form. Five letters of endorsement, a biography and a proposed citation are required with the nomination.

All nomination information is considered confidential to the AIST Board of Directors, the Awards & Recognition Program Committee and its subcommittees.


This lecturer is selected in recognition of distinguished contributions in chemical process metallurgy and materials chemistry to the iron and steel industry. The nominee may be from either industry or academia.

Selection Process

This award recipient will be selected by a special committee of five members appointed by the Awards and Recognition Program Committee chair. Three committee members shall be from AIST and two from The Minerals, Metals, and Materials Society (TMS). Members shall serve two-year terms. The selected candidate must be approved by the AIST board of directors and the TMS board of directors.

About John F. Elliott

John F. Elliott began his tenure as professor of metallurgy at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1955. He received a bachelor of metallurgical engineering degree from the University of Minnesota in 1942 and a doctor of science degree from M.I.T. in 1949.
He was a John Simon Guggenheim Fellow at the Imperial College of London and the British Iron and Steel Research Association in 1965.
Dr. Elliott published actively, often with his students as co-authors, in the areas of the chemical thermodynamics and kinetics of phases and reactions important in pyrometallurgical processes and high-temperature corrosion, iron and steelmaking, and process analysis. He was the co-author of two reference volumes on the thermochemistry of steelmaking.
He received the Robert W. Hunt Award in 1954, the Open Hearth Conference Award in 1955, and the John Chipman Award and Charles W. Briggs Award in 1972. He was the Howe Memorial Lecturer in 1963 and the Extractive Metallurgy Division Lecturer in 1975. Dr. Elliott was elected a Fellow of The Metallurgical Society of AIME in 1968. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and of the American Society for Metals and an honorary member of the Iron and Steel Institute of Japan. Dr. Elliott was elected a member of the National Academy of Engineering in 1975.