About AIST

Steven Henderson presented the 2022 AIST Steelmaker of the Year Award to Mark Millett (right).

Mark D. Millett / Co-Founder, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Steel Dynamics Inc., Fort Wayne, Ind., USA

For his innovative and steadfast leadership to guide the strategic growth of Steel Dynamics Inc. by fostering a culture recognized for valuing personal safety, customer service, social responsibility and shareholder value; his commitment to transformational technologies and green steelmaking; his advocacy on behalf of the North American steel industry; and his more than 40 years of dedication to the advancement of iron and steel.

Steelmaker of the Year Award

►Nomination Form
►Award Recipients

History and Purpose

The AIST Steelmaker of the Year Award, established in 1991, recognizes a prominent individual for steel industry leadership.

Nomination Process

Nominations shall be made by submitting the AIST Award Nomination FormA minimum of five letters of endorsement, a biography and proposed citation are required with each nomination. A majority of the endorsement letters shall be from non-related corporate entities.

All nomination information is considered confidential to the AIST Board of Directors, the Awards & Recognition Program Committee and its subcommittees.


Nominees will be considered from any steel production company throughout the world.  While not a requirement, the award is generally intended for a representative of a company that melts steel. Nominees will have demonstrated successful steel industry leadership through continuous improvement, technological innovation, strategic planning and the creation of a strong corporate culture. Nominees will have served the greater steel industry and advocated for the various communities it supports, during the year of nomination.  Posthumous nominations shall be eligible if nominated within one year of death. Nomination packets for Steelmaker of the Year will be eligible for consideration for one year.

Selection Process

The AIST Awards and Recognition Program Committee shall narrow the field to three candidates.  The AIST Executive Committee shall select a final candidate.