About AIST

Charles H. Herty, Jr. Award

    Karim Alshurafa and Neal Pyke presented the 2017 Charles H. Herty Jr. Award (left to right): Alshurafa, Shane Lewis and Pyke.
►Award Recipients

History and Purpose

Established on 24 September 1960 to honor Charles H. Herty Jr., known for his practical application of scientific principles and in honor of his ability to reduce scientific principle to practical steel plant use, which was his strongest attribute. This award is presented to the author of a paper, selected by the AIST Steelmaking Technology Division, and judged to be the best oxygen steelmaking technical paper submitted.