About AIST

Mark Trapp was presented with the 2023 John Bell Award (left to right): Justin Zwick, Alyssa Van Delden, Trapp and Kyle Vanover.

John Bell Award
►Award Recipients

History and Purpose

Established in 2011 in honor of John Bell, a tireless innovator and educator, who was active in the exchange of concepts and ideas that advanced the knowledge and understanding of electric arc furnace steelmaking.  He took every opportunity to teach and exchange his knowledge and understanding with operators and professionals alike and grew many strong relationships.  John Bell, executive vice president and manager of operations at Severstal Columbus LLC, died on 24 September 2011.

This award will be presented to a deserving individual who has made a major and significant contribution to the innovation, improvement, and education of the engineering design and metallurgical process of electric arc furnace technology.  This award also recognizes the unique nature of the steelmaking community in freely exchanging knowledge and forming professional relationships, and John Bell’s contribution in that regard.

The inaugural award was presented at AISTech 2012.