About AIST

Bill Jones (left) and Sunday Abraham (right) presented Jean Lehmann (center) with the 2023 AIST Kent D. Peaslee Award.

Kent D. Peaslee Award

►Award Recipients

History and Purpose

Established in 2017 by the AIST Ladle & Secondary Refining Technology Committee to honor Dr. Kent D. Peaslee for his support of AIST, including serving as AIST President in 2012/2013, and in recognition of his tireless efforts to educate students at all levels in support of the steel industry, explain concepts to new engineers and promote University relations within the industry. This award is presented to the author of a technical paper on “Inclusion Engineering and Clean Steel” that best exemplifies Kent’s focus on education.