About AIST

Madhu Ranade (left) presented Stuart Street (right) with the 2023 Thomas L. Joseph Award.

Thomas L. Joseph Award

►Award Recipients

History and Purpose

Established in 1965 to honor a devoted teacher and scientist, Thomas L. Joseph, who contributed much in the fundamental studies of blast furnace reactions. This award is conferred for distinguished contributions in the fields of ironmaking and ore agglomeration technology including improvements in methods of selection and preparation of ore for use in the manufacture of iron and developments that lead to greater efficiency in the use of raw materials in ironmaking, and improvements in the design, operation and productivity of the Blast Furnace. The recipient must be over forty (40) years of age.