About AIST

Tim Burttram (right) presented Hiranya Pathak (left) with the 2022 James Farrington Award.

Farrington Award

►Award Recipients


This award was established in 2005 to honor James Farrington, founder and first president of AISE, and his vision for iron and steel companies to join together, present papers, share mutual problems, and set standards for the improvement of electrical machinery and processes. This award is presented to the author of a paper, selected by the AIST Energy and Control Technology Division, and judged by the AIST Electrical Applications Technology Committee to be the best technical paper submitted.


The Award recipient is selected from authors submitting and presenting papers in an Electrical Applications sponsored technical session or specialty conference within the calendar year.

Selection Process

The Awards Subcommittee will lead and oversee the recommendations and nominations for the Farrington Award.  The Awards Subcommittee is a volunteer based ad-hoc committee which is led by the Electrical Applications Tehnology Committee Vice Chair and may consist of the previous and current Papers Chairs as well as Session Chairs.  The final candidate of the award will be decided by the Electrical Applications Technology Committee at the winter meeting each year.

Candidates will be reviewed based on the following criteria:

40% Relevance
20% Written Text
20% Technical Context
10% Innovation (Uniqueness)
10% Significance of Application

The final candidate will be nominated based on the majority of the votes from the committee members in attendance at the winter meeting.  It is not mandatory that an award winner be selected each year.