About AIST

Kyle Ferron (left) presented Bashar Alzihery (right) with the 2023 J.E. Johnson Jr. Award.

J.E. Johnson, Jr. Award

►Award Recipients

History and Purpose

Established in 1921 and supported by AIME from funds donated by Mrs. Margaret Hilles Johnson in memory of her husband, J.E. Johnson, Jr., a prominent engineer and author in the field of iron blast-furnace construction and practice. This award is conferred upon an individual 40 years of age or younger to encourage creative work in branches of the metallurgy or manufacture of pig iron.


A cash award will be presented to the recipient in the amount of US$2,500. Funding for this program provided in part by the generous support of the American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical and Petroleum Engineers (AIME).  AIST is a proud member society of AIME, founded 1871.