About AIST

Technology Committee Awards

Each of the nine Technology Divisions has established awards for individuals and companies pertaining to their notable achievements in the global iron and steel industry. In May 2023, the AIST Board of Directors approved recognition for up to five awards per Technology Division.

Safety & Environment

Environmental Technology Best Paper Award*
Don B. Daily Safety Award
Safety & Health Innovation Awards

Cokemaking & Ironmaking

Joseph Becker Award
J.E. Johnson, Jr. Award (AIME)
Josef S. Kapitan Award*
Thomas L. Joseph Award
Direct Reduced Iron (DRI) Best Paper Award*


Charles W. Briggs Award*
Charles H. Herty, Jr. Award*
John Bell Award
Specialty Alloy & Foundry Best Paper Award*

Refining & Casting

Continuous Casting Best Paper Award*
Ladle & Secondary Refining Best Paper Award*
Kent D. Peaslee Award*

Rolling & Processing

Norman D. Hodgson Outstanding Achievement Award
Rolls Technology Best Paper Award*
Hot Sheet Rolling Best Paper Award*


Adolf Martens Memorial Steel Lecture
Jerry Silver Award*
Gilbert R. Speich Award*
Richard J. Fruehan Award

Energy, Control & Digitalization

Farrington Award*
Digitalization Applications Best Paper Award*
Energy Achievement Award

Plant Services & Reliability

Project Excellence Award
Reliability Achievement Award
Refractory Systems Best Paper Award*

Material Movement & Transportation

AIST Charlie Totten Crane Innovator Award

*The recipients of these AIST Technology Committee awards will be considered for the AIST Hunt-Kelly Outstanding Paper Award (AIME) in the following year, provided that the paper is published by the association in the conference proceedings within the prior year.